Faculty receive promotions and tenure – School of Medicine News – The South End

The Wayne State University School of Medicine recently announced the 2020 promotion of faculty members, and the names of five faculty who have attained tenure.

Those who received tenure include Nardhy Gomez-Lopez, Ph.D., associate professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology; Asfar Azmi, Ph.D., associate professor of Oncology; Nerissa Viola, Ph.D., associate professor of Oncology; Elizabeth Berger, Ph.D., associate professor of Ophthalmology, Visual and Anatomical Sciences; and Robert Wessells, Ph.D., associate professor of Physiology.

Achievement of promotion and tenure is recognition that faculty members have attained advanced levels of academic excellence. Whether they are basic scientists or clinicians, being promoted to the next academic rank indicates that the faculty members have achieved excellence as effective educators, scholars, and/or providers of professional services, said Basim Dubaybo, M.D., vice dean of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development. They have become recognized locally, regionally and nationally as experts in their field of endeavor. They are also actively contributing to the academic careers of younger colleagues. Achievement of promotion and tenure is also a reflection of our academic environment. It is recognition that the university and the School of Medicine have created the nurturing environment needed to help faculty members achieve these milestones. We succeed when our faculty succeed.

Dr. Berger received her doctoral degree from WSU in 2007, became a research assistant in 2009 and became an assistant professor in 2013.

Being awarded tenure was quite personal for me for a couple of different reasons, she said. First, it is the recognition that the ideas and concepts that are generated within my lab are supported by levels of productivity and success that are valued and respected by my colleagues, the School of Medicine and the university. Second, as a working parent who had two additional children while on the tenure clock, it reinforced my own fortitude while also serving as a testament to the strength and support of my lab personnel the latter of which is key to the achievements of any research program. The family I have both at home and at work are just as much a part of this process. Attaining tenure and promotion is a reflection of their hard work and support, as well.

Dr. Gomez-Lopez, who also serves as section head of the Maternal-Fetal Immunobiology Unit, Perinatal Research Initiative in Support of the Perinatology Research Branch, joined the faculty in 2012.

I am honored to receive the promotion of tenure at the Wayne State University School of Medicine. I am grateful to be part of the Perinatology Research Branch, whose translational research is dedicated to improving the lives of mothers and children, she said. This accomplishment was largely due to the successful collaborations that I have established in the intellectually stimulating environment within the Perinatology Research Branch. I am particularly grateful to Dr. Roberto Romero and Dr. Chaur-Dong Hsu for their continuous support of women in science.

The announced promotions are listed by department below:

AnesthesiologyZulfiqar Ahmed, M.D., clinical associate professorShushovan Chakrabortty, M.D., Ph.D., clinical professorMaria Zestos, M.D., professor

Center for Molecular Medicine and GeneticsAllison Jay, M.D., clinical associate professor

Emergency MedicineRobert Dunne, M.D., professor

Family Medicine and Public Health ServicesJuliann Binienda, Ph.D., professorLawrence Fischetti, Ph.D., adjunct associate professorTess McCready, D.O., clinical associate professorPierre Morris, M.D., clinical associate professorFatin Sahhar, M.D., clinical associate professorAngela Tiura, Ph.D., associate professor

Internal MedicineRana Awdish, M.D., associate professorZeenat Bhat, M.D., professorTeena Chopra, M.D., professorJosephine Dhar, M.D., clinical professorJavier Diaz-Mendoza, M.D., associate professorTarik Hadid, M.D., associate professorRaymond Hilu, M.D., associate professorNashat Imran, M.D., associate professorZyad Kafri, M.D., associate professorSachin Parikh, M.D., clinical associate professorPreeti Ramappa, M.D., clinical associate professorLobelia Samavati, M.D., professorAbdulghani Sankari, M.D., Ph.D., professorGhulam Saydain, M.D., professorHerbert Smitherman Jr., M.D., M.P.H., professorVivek Soi, M.D., clinical associate professorNeelima Thati, M.D., associate professorDonald Tynes, M.D., clinical associate professorJarrett Weinberger, M.D., associate professor

NeurologyIram Zaman, D.O., clinical associate professorDeepti Zutshi, M.D., associate professor

NeurosurgeryVictor Chang, M.D., clinical associate professor

Obstetrics and GynecologyNardhy Gomez-Lopez, Ph.D., associate professor (tenure)Shari Maxwell, M.D., clinical associate professor

Office of Learning and TeachingZsa-Zsa Booker, Ph.D., academic advisor IIISimone Brennan, Ph.D., academic advisor IVSonal Patel, M.A., academic services officer III

OncologyAsfar Azmi, Ph.D., associate professor (with tenure)Jing Li, Ph.D., professorStephan Patrick, Ph.D., professorLisa Polin, Ph.D., professorNerissa Viola, Ph.D., associate professor (with tenure)Ira Winer, M.D., Ph.D., associate professorJay Yang, M.D., associate professor

Ophthalmology, Visual and Anatomical SciencesElizabeth Berger, Ph.D., associate professor (with tenure)

Orthopaedic SurgeryVasilios Moutzouros, M.D., clinical professor

Otolaryngology, Head and Neck SurgeryRobert Deeb, M.D., clinical associate professorZhengqing Hu, M.D., Ph.D., professor

PathologyJanet Poulik, M.D., professor

PediatricsPremchand Anne, M.D., clinical associate professorDavid DaCosta, M.D., clinical professorSharon Marshall, M.D., professorAnita Moncrease, M.D., clinical professorLynn Smitherman, M.D., associate professor

PharmacologyAna de Carvalho, Ph.D., adjunct associate professorSokol Todi, Ph.D. (joint with Neurology), professor

PhysiologyNour-Eddine Rhaleb, Ph.D., professorRobert Wessells, Ph.D., associate professor (with tenure)

Psychiatry and Behavioral NeurosciencesArash Javanbakht, M.D., associate professorLisa MacLean, M.D., associate professorMary Morreale, M.D., professorGerald Shiener, M.D., clinical professor

RadiologyIshani Dalal, M.D., clinical associate professorBrent Griffith, M.D., associate professorHoria Marin, M.D., clinical professorGauravi Sabharwal, M.D., clinical associate professorCourtney Scher, D.O., clinical associate professorBiren Shah, M.D., clinical professor

SurgeryAlfred Baylor, M.D., associate professorLydia Choi, M.D. (joint with Oncology), associate professorZane Hammoud, M.D., professorSurya Nalamati, M.D., clinical associate professorTimothy Nypaver, M.D., clinical associate professorLindsay Petersen, M.D., clinical associate professorIlan Rubinfeld, M.D., professor

UrologyAli Dabaja, M.D., clinical associate professor

See the article here:
Faculty receive promotions and tenure - School of Medicine News - The South End

Related Post

Comments are closed.